Invisalign 隐适美月:以 $30 净价获得咨询和 3D iTero 扫描。 了解更多>

隐适美 (Invisalign) 术后的生活

2022 年 12 月 22 日

类别: 隐适美
Life after Invisalign wear retainers

你几乎完成了你的 隐适美 治疗,您很快就会拥有梦想的微笑!虽然 Invisalign 隐适美旅程的主要部分已接近终点线,但它并不会就此停止。

Invisalign 隐适美治疗的重点是通过逐渐将牙齿移至理想位置来治疗错位的牙齿。治疗后,您将过渡到称为“维持”或“保留”的新阶段。

您可能会问:“既然我已经有了一副整齐的牙齿,为什么还需要保养呢?”或“维护阶段需要什么?”。

我们为您介绍了有关隐适美 (Invisalign) 术后生活的更多细节。

维护阶段

Invisalign 隐适美疗程的维护阶段重点是确保您从 Invisalign 隐适美治疗中获得的成果不会白白浪费。

换句话说,维护阶段是为了确保在您取下最后一个 Invisalign 隐适美矫正器后,矫正后的牙齿不会移回其初始位置。

保持器

所有正畸治疗,例如 金属牙套 Invisalign 隐适美将要求患者在完成治疗后佩戴保持器,以防止牙齿移位。此维护阶段与您的治疗阶段同样重要。

为什么我需要保持器?

完成 Invisalign 隐适美治疗后立即佩戴保持器的想法可能看起来并不令人愉快。我们了解您投入了时间和金钱来享受 Invisalign 隐适美的优势,并且在治疗后佩戴其他正畸矫治器似乎是一个永无止境的旅程。

确实,戴保持器对你来说是有好处的。完成 Invisalign 隐适美治疗后,您的牙齿仍然脆弱并且很容易移位。因此,佩戴保持器将有助于将它们牢固地固定到位。

这个过程不会在一夜之间发生。这可能需要一年或更长时间,因此佩戴保持器时保持勤奋非常重要。由于每位患者都是独一无二的,您的牙医会建议您佩戴保持器的说明和持续时间。通常,您需要在一段时间内全天佩戴保持器,然后逐渐过渡到晚上睡觉时必须佩戴它们。

我有什么选择?

保持器主要分为两类,可摘保持器和永久保持器。

对于前者,你的 选项 包括透明保持器和几乎隐形的 Invisalign 隐适美 Vivera 保持器。另一种选择是 Hawley 保持器,它具有丙烯酸树脂和细金属丝,旨在贴合您的上颌或下牙内侧。可拆卸保持器有其优点,例如可以在用餐时灵活地拆卸它们。然而,它们的使用寿命约为 1 至 3 年,具体取决于您选择的可拆卸保持器的类型。

另请注意,无论是金属还是塑料,可拆卸保持器都不是“一刀切”的口腔矫治器。就像 Invisalign 隐适美透明矫正器一样,它们经过量身定制,可完美贴合您的牙齿。

另一方面,永久保持器由金属制成并粘合在牙齿背面,以帮助保持牙齿就位。此选项特别适合那些不太愿意使用可摘保持器并且牙齿移回初始位置的风险较高的患者。永久保持器的优点之一是寿命长,只要不断裂就可以持续使用。然而,您需要付出更多努力来保持口腔健康,因为牙菌斑形成的风险更高。

我需要佩戴保持器多久?

在最初的几个月里,您需要整天佩戴保持器以将牙齿固定到位。在此过程中,您的牙医会建议您减少时间,例如仅在晚上佩戴保持器。

随着时间的推移,您的牙医会调整持续时间,但您很可能需要终生佩戴保持器。不用担心,随着工作时间的减少以及您适应这种新的生活方式,您会意识到按照建议佩戴保持器是值得的。

如果我不遵守善后护理计划会怎样?

佩戴保持器的目的是将牙齿固定在新的位置。因此,如果您不遵守牙医的佩戴说明,您将面临以下风险:

  • 您的牙齿将开始移动,并可能回到原来的位置。
  • 您将需要与您的牙医再次预约以安装新的保持器。
  • 您可能需要在较长时间内重新佩戴保持器,例如白天。
  • 您有可能需要重新开始正畸治疗。
  • 您的咬合可能会发生变化。换句话说,可能会出现咬合不正。

因此,按照牙医的指示认真佩戴保持器对于您终生保持新的、改善的笑容非常重要。

Invisalign 隐适美后的生活:其他重要习惯

虽然佩戴保持器是维护阶段的主要部分,但在 Invisalign 隐适美之后继续生活时,还需要保持其他重要的习惯。

护理您的保持器 这是必不可少的,与保养 Invisalign 隐适美矫正器类似。您需要在进食时取下保持器,并每天冲洗和清洁它们。另外最好不要喝热饮,以免保持器变形。

其次,按时去看牙医很重要。这可以让牙医检查您的牙齿是否有任何移动,或者您的口腔是否发生可能使牙齿位置面临风险的变化。

在您的预约期间,您的牙医还将确保您的牙齿和牙龈健康。这有助于预防蛀牙和牙龈疾病。在家时,必须继续定期刷牙和使用牙线以保持口腔健康。

隐适美 (Invisalign) 术后的您的生活同样令人兴奋,尤其是您的新笑容! 与我们的牙医交谈 如果您对佩戴保持器或 Invisalign 隐适美后的旅程有疑问。

准备好实现你的 理想的微笑?

与我们预约

  • 请输入您首选的预约日期:
  • 请输入您首选的预约时间:
  • 这个字段是用于验证目的,应该保持不变。
ZH

健康的笑容从预约开始。

fbpx

Invisalign Month: Get a consultation and 3D iTero Scan at $30 nett. Find out more >

Life after Invisalign

22 December 2022

Categories: Invisalign
Life after Invisalign wear retainers

You’re almost done with your Invisalign treatment and you will soon have the smile of your dreams! While the main part of your Invisalign journey is close to its finish line, it does not stop there.

Your Invisalign treatment has been focused on treating your misaligned teeth by gradually shifting them to their ideal position. After your treatment, you’ll transition to a new phase known as ‘maintenance’ or ‘retention’.

You may ask, “Why do I need maintenance when I now have a straighter set of teeth?” or “What does the maintenance phase entail?”.

We got you covered as we share more details about life after Invisalign.

The Maintenance Phase

The maintenance phase of your Invisalign journey focuses on ensuring that the results you’ve achieved from your Invisalign treatment do not go to waste.

In other words, the maintenance phase is to ensure that your straightened teeth do not shift back to their initial position after you’ve removed your last Invisalign aligner.

Retainers

All orthodontic treatments such as metal braces or Invisalign will require the patient to wear a retainer upon the completion of their treatment to prevent their teeth from shifting. This maintenance phase is equally important as your treatment phase.

Why Do I Need a Retainer?

The idea of wearing a retainer right after you’ve completed your Invisalign treatment may not seem pleasing. We understand you’ve invested your time and money to benefit from the advantages of Invisalign, and wearing another orthodontic appliance after your treatment seems like a never-ending journey.

Truly, the need for you to wear a retainer is to benefit you. Upon the completion of your Invisalign treatment, your teeth remain vulnerable and they could easily shift. Therefore, wearing a retainer will help to hold them securely in place.

This process does not happen overnight. It could take about a year or more, so it is important for you to remain diligent when wearing your retainer. As every patient is unique, your dentist will advise on instructions and duration on how long you should wear your retainer. Typically, you will be required to wear your retainer throughout the day for a period of time and you will gradually transition to having to wear them to sleep at night.

What Options Do I Have?

Retainers are mainly divided into two categories, namely removable and permanent retainers.

For the former, your options include clear retainers and Invisalign’s Vivera retainers, which are virtually invisible. Another option would be Hawley retainers which have acrylic and a thin metal wire, designed to fit the roof of your mouth or the inside of your lower teeth. Removable retainers have their advantages such as having the flexibility of removing them during your meals. However, they have a life span of about 1 to 3 years, depending on the type of removable retainer you opted for.

Do also note that be it metal or plastic, removable retainers are not a ‘one-size-fits-all’ oral appliance. Just like your Invisalign clear aligners, they are tailored to fit your teeth perfectly.

Permanent retainers, on the other hand, are made of metal and bonded to the back of your teeth to help keep your teeth in place. This option is especially suitable for patients who are less diligent with removable retainers and are at a higher risk of their teeth shifting back to their initial position. One of the advantages of permanent retainers is that it has a long life span and can last as long as it doesn’t break. However, more effort will be required to maintain your oral health as it has a higher risk of plaque buildup.

How Long Will I need to Wear My Retainer?

During the first few months, you’ll be required to wear your retainer for the entire day to hold your teeth in place. Along the way, your dentist will advise you to reduce the hours such as wearing your retainer only at night.

Over time, your dentist will adjust the duration but you’ll most likely need to wear your retainer throughout your life. Not to worry, as the hours decrease and you adjust to this new lifestyle, you’ll realise that it’s all worth it to wear your retainer as recommended.

What Happens if I Do Not Adhere to the After Care Plan?

The purpose of wearing a retainer is to secure your teeth in their new position. Therefore, if you do not adhere to your dentist’s instructions on wearing them, you will risk the following:

  • Your teeth will begin to shift and possibly return to their misaligned position.
  • You will be required to schedule another appointment with your dentist to get fitted with a new retainer.
  • You may need to return to wearing your retainer for a longer period, such as during the day.
  • There is a possibility that you will need to restart your orthodontic treatment.
  • There can be changes to your bite. In other words, malocclusion could develop.

Therefore, wearing your retainers diligently and according to your dentist’s instructions is important to retain your new and improved smile throughout your life.

Life After Invisalign: Other Important Habits

While wearing a retainer is the main part of the maintenance phase, there are also other important habits to maintain as you continue with life after Invisalign.

Caring for your retainer is essential and is similar to caring for your Invisalign aligners. You’ll need to remove your retainer when eating, and to rinse and clean them daily. It is also best not to drink hot beverages to prevent your retainers from warping.

Secondly, it’s important to keep up with your dental appointments. This allows your dentist to check if there has been any movement of your teeth or if there are changes to your mouth that may put your teeth’s positions at risk.

During your appointments, your dentist will also ensure that your teeth and gums are healthy. This helps to prevent tooth decay as well as gum diseases. When at home, it’s essential to continue brushing and flossing regularly to maintain your oral health.

Your life after Invisalign is just as exciting, especially with your new smile! Speak to our dentist if you’ve questions about wearing your retainer or your journey after Invisalign.

Ready to achieve your ideal smile?

Let us help you through your journey by clicking on the button below